Things To Do:

SMU Mustangs

Corporate Transportation Weddings Sports Teams Students & Education

SMU Mustangs

You likely know the SMU Mustangs as one of the great underdogs of college basketball. Those glory days are long gone now, but there's still plenty to learn about this Texas school of 7,500 students. SMU is a private university located in Dallas, Texas. An institution with a rich football tradition since the 1920s and a long history of producing top-notch quarterbacks, SMU is also known for its strong business program, ranking in the top 25 among business schools in the nation. football-field

Sports League They Play in

The SMU Mustangs compete in the American Athletic Conference. The American Athletic Conference is a member of the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS). The Mustangs were previously members of the Southwest Conference from 1915 to 1996, the Western Athletic Conference from 1996 to 2000 and the Conference USA from 2005 to 2012. SMU was one of the charter members of the Southwest Athletic Conference, founded in 1915. Justin Haycraft was their first coach for just one year. Ted Collins, who had been serving as head coach at SMU since 1912, took over for four years. In 1923 Gordon Munson became SMU's third head football coach, leading his team against Baylor University and Texas Christian University (TCU) until 1931 when he was fired after a winless season and replaced by Matty Bell. Coach Bell led SMU from 1932 to 1942 and again from 1946 to 1948. SMU achieved its greatest success when it won 8 consecutive Southwest Championship titles between 1935-1942 during which time they compiled a record of 57-9-3 and competed in 5 bowl games winning 3 including a trip to their first Rose Bowl where they defeated UCLA 21-14 on January 2nd, 1936! They also won National Championships in 1935 and 1982 under coaches Matty Bell and Ron Meyer respectively during this span of time If you are planning a trip to the Dallas area, with a large group of passengers you can count on a Dallas bus rental to transport your group to your desired locations. Enjoy stress free group transportation with a coach bus rental perfect for 45-60 passengers.

What Stadium Do They Play At?

SMU Mustangs football home games are played in Gerald J. Ford Stadium, which has a seating capacity of 32,000 people. The stadium is located at the southwest corner of the campus. It was completed in September 2000, and replaced Ownby Stadium as SMU's home football field. The stadium was named after Gerald J. Ford, a Dallas banker who gave the university $20 million for its football program. The stadium has also been used for high school playoff games (especially Texas Christian Athletic League state championship games), concerts, and other special events like soccer matches. Ready more fun? Be sure to check out Conventions in Dallas Texas

Team History

The SMU Mustangs have a long and storied history of winning. Blah blah blah.

SMU Mustangs football

The Mustangs have appeared in six bowl games, winning three: the 1934 Dixie Classic against TCU, the 1982 Aloha Bowl over Notre Dame, and the 1984 Aloha Bowl over Notre Dame. The SMU Mustangs played their first game on October 13, 1915 against TCU. They won their first conference title in 1923, with a perfect 10-0 record. The team plays its home games at Gerald J Ford Stadium which opened in 2000 and has a seating capacity of 32,000. The Mustang's current head coach is Sonny Dykes Are you traveling with a large group? Consider a charter bus rental, perfect for medium to large sized groups. We service all major events, and common services such as weddings, birthday parties and more.

SMU Mustangs men's basketball

Mustang Men's Basketball The Mustangs won the Southwest Conference (SWC) championship in 1943, 1955 and 1956. They made their first postseason appearance in 1946, a season in which they lost just one game, to Oklahoma A&M. The team played in the NABC Tournament in 1954 and were SWC runners up four times (1943, 1945, 1955 and 1956). They also won the tournament championship in 1956 and appeared again in 1957. SMU made its first appearance on television on December 20, 1951 against Texas Tech. SMU was ranked #20 nationally by the AP Poll during both 1953–54 and 1954–55 seasons under coach Forrest Twogood. Denny Holman led SMU to three consecutive SWC championships from 1967-69. In 1982 he coached his last season with the Mustangs before retiring from coaching altogether after 52 years of coaching at all levels of basketball (high school, junior college and collegiate). Even though he had never seen a shot clock prior to his arrival as head basketball coach at SMU, Guy V. Lewis quickly developed a successful program that included six trips to the NCAA Final Four with notable players including Hakeem Olajuwon and Clyde Drexler leading them past opponents like Louisana State University's “Pistol Pete” Maravich (with David Vaughn) who were considered unbeatable at that time by many other college coaches around the country

SMU Mustangs women's basketball

The Mustangs won the SMU Invitational in 2014. The Mustangs won the WNIT in 2012. The Mustangs won the NIT in 1986. The Mustangs won the NWIT in 1984. The Mustangs won the AIAW Regional Tournament in 1981. The Mustangs won the AIAW State Tournament in 1981.

National championships

As of 2016, SMU has won seven NCAA team national championships:

  • Men's Basketball (1955)
  • Men's Golf (1963)

In addition to the NCAA titles, SMU has won 55 Southwest Conference titles. The Mustangs have also earned one NAIA title in basketball and two NIT titles. The team played in the bowl game three times without a win. In total, the football program has earned nine conference championships and eight bowl appearances. In 2008, the SMU equestrian team became the first from Texas to compete in an NCAA championship event.

These are the sports of the Southern Methodist University Mustangs.

The Southern Methodist University Mustangs are a college sports team with a long, storied history. They play several sports, including basketball and baseball. They play in the American Athletic Conference. Their colors are red and blue.

Get Instant Pricing & Availability No Email required.