Sports Teams in Dallas Texas

Sports Teams in Dallas Texas

When we talk about sports in the state of Texas, what comes to mind? Football. The NFL has represented Texas well over the years with the Dallas Cowboys, Houston. Other popular sports in Texas include basketball (NBA), baseball (MLB), hockey (NHL), soccer (FC) and lacrosse. In this article, we will go over some of the top professional sports teams in Dallas Texas.


Here are the major sports teams in Dallas

There are four major sports teams in Dallas, Texas. The Dallas Stars is the only one of these teams to have won a championship in the last ten years, when they won the 1999 Stanley Cup. The other three teams have been disappointments as of late:

  • The Cowboys have not won a ring since 1995 and regularly underperform despite their flashiness (aka Romo).
  • In 2011, the Mavericks made it to the NBA finals and won a long-awaited championship. However, they have not seen any playoff action since 2015.
  • Despite having one of baseball’s greatest hitters with Adrian Beltre, the Rangers have missed out on two World Series appearances in 2010 and 2011 where they lost to San Francisco and St. Louis respectively.

The most interesting fact about Dallas sports is that there are no professional women’s teams in any sport except for womens’ hockey!

Dallas Mavericks

The Dallas Mavericks are a professional basketball team based in Dallas, Texas. The Mavericks compete in the National Basketball Association as a member club of the league’s Western Conference Southwest Division. Founded in 1980, the Mavericks made their first NBA Finals appearance in 2006. Since then, they have played two more times (2011 and 2014).

The Mavericks play their home games at American Airlines Center. In 1980, Dallas businessman Don Carter and Texas dealer Norm Green purchased the team for $12 million and relocated it from Minnesota to Dallas (the franchise had played its first four seasons in Minneapolis). They named it after a TV show from their childhood called Maverick.

After many years of mediocrity (one of which was an NBA-worst 15–67 record), the Mavericks finally won 50+ games and earned a spot in the playoffs for the first time during the 1983–84 season with 49 wins led by shooting guard Mark Aguirre who averaged 25 points per game and small forward Rolando Blackman who averaged 21 points per game. In 1983, he finished second behind Larry Bird for Rookie of the Year honors. His career ended due to knee injuries but he did manage to set numerous franchise records during his short career including most points scored (9,262), highest scoring average (18 ppg), most three-point field goals made (402) and attempted (1,107).

In 1986–87 season head coach John MacLeod led them to an 18–6 start before being fired nine days later on December 17; Jim Cleamons took over as head coach after that. Under Cleamons they went 15-15 to finish 41–41 while finishing third place in their division. However they were swept by Denver Nuggets 3-0 then lost by Golden State Warriors 3-2

Dallas Stars

The Dallas Stars are a professional hockey team that has played in the National Hockey League (NHL) since 1967, when they were known as the Minnesota North Stars. When their original franchise folded in 1993, they became the Dallas Stars and have remained here ever since. The team’s colors are black, green, gold and white. The name “Stars” was chosen to reflect Texas as “the Lone Star State.”

The Stars have won one Stanley Cup championship, in 1999, and six division titles. They play at the American Airlines Center in Dallas.

Texas Rangers

A sports team is a group of individuals who play several games against one another in order to determine the best among them.

The Texas Rangers are an American baseball team based in the city of Dallas, Texas. This team competes in Major League Baseball (MLB) as a member of the American League West division under the ownership of Ray Davis and Neil Leibman (who own 36.5% each), with Bob Simpson (who owns 13%) and Neil’s son, Todd Leibman (who owns 14%), serving as CEO and alternate governor respectively. The franchise was established in 1961 when it became one of four new expansion teams to join the American League during that season, along with the Los Angeles Angels, Washington Senators, and Kansas City Athletics. The Rangers’ name originates from a Spanish word for “friends” or “companions”, referring to those pioneers who helped establish the state’s independence from Mexico by fighting alongside it during its war for independence many years earlier; this sense is retained from the original usage of “rangers” referring to special law enforcement agents guarding various parts of Texas during those early days.

In their history, which spans over four decades since their formation as an MLB franchise in 1961, the Rangers have won five divisional titles and two league pennants for postseason appearances. They were inducted into the Hall of Fame on July 28th 2014 after winning their second consecutive American League pennant on October 22nd 2011 against Detroit Tigers 4-3 win at Comerica Park to advance through World Series against St. Louis Cardinals 3-2 win at Busch Stadium on October 27th 2011 but lost world series 4-3 loss at Busch Stadium on October 28th 2011 but they made it back again after three years later on October 15th 2015 before facing Toronto Blue Jays 5-1 loss at Rogers Center but they did not make it further until 2019 season after five years later with several disappointing seasons following including last place finish two consecutive seasons before

Dallas Cowboys

Dallas Cowboys

The Dallas Cowboys are a professional American football team based in the Dallas–Fort Worth metroplex. The Cowboys compete in the National Football League (NFL) as a member club of the league’s National Football Conference (NFC) East division. The team is headquartered in Frisco, Texas, and plays its home games at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, which opened for the 2009 season. The stadium took its current name prior to the 2013 season. The Cowboys joined the NFL as an expansion team in 1960. The team’s national following might best be represented by its NFL record of consecutive sell-outs. The Cowboys’ streak of 190 consecutive sold-out regular and postseason games began in 2002.

Jerry Jones

Jerry Wayne Jones is an American businessman and philanthropist. He is owner of the National Football League’s Dallas Cowboys since 1989, having purchased them for $140 million out of bankruptcy from H.R “Bum” Bright after an unsuccessful bid with Jimmy Johnson to buy them from Bum Bright a year before that fell through due to his asking price being too high at $150 million and not wanting to pay him off what he owed him on top of it along with trying to oust him from the organization but failed due to Bright still wanting majority ownership.

Get Instant Pricing & Availability No Email required.